Since 1997, Yale Law Women has awarded the Faculty and Staff Excellence Awards at Yale Law School in recognition of outstanding service to our student community. After nominations from the YLW community and school-wide voting, one winner in each category is celebrated at a reception. Winners after 2005 have his or her name inscribed on a plaque in the YLS building.

The YLW Faculty Excellence Award recognizes an outstanding professor for his or her involvement in student life, passion for teaching, and dedicated support of individual students both personally and professionally. Any faculty member is eligible, including visiting faculty, writing instructors, clinical faculty, and faculty on leave this semester.

The YLW Staff Excellence Award recognizes an outstanding staff member for enhancing the student experience and for special contributions to community life at Yale Law School. Nominations for this award are open to any of the wonderful staff that work in this building, including (but not limited to) administrative staff, managerial staff, AV and Tech staff, security guards, cafeteria and janitorial staff.

Past Winners


  • 2015: Abbe Gluck
  • 2014: Roberta Romano
  • 2013: David Marcus
  • 2012: Anne Alstott
  • 2011: Amy Chua
  • 2010: Richard Brooks
  • 2009: Heather Gerken
  • 2006: Deborah J. Cantrell
  • 2005: Ronald S. Sullivan


  • 2015: Jill Stone
  • 2014: the Library Staff
  • 2013: Cookie DeLeon
  • 2012: Marcin Kloc
  • 2011: Kevin Rose
  • 2010: Pat Barnes
  • 2009: Sharon Brooks
  • 2007: Gerard Armoogam
  • 2006: Brian Pauze
  • 2005: Beth A. Barnes

Outstanding Leadership Award

In 2012, YLW also introduced an Outstanding Leadership Award to recognize key allies in our mission to advance the status of women at the law school and in the legal profession. The Yale Law Women Board selects the winner of this discretionary award.

  • 2015: Ruth Swift '15
  • 2014: Adrien Weibgen ‘14
  • 2013: Eric Parrie ‘13
  • 2012: Deputy Dean Douglas Kysar